Advertisement:

Author Topic: It does not generate these addresses:  (Read 12958 times)

buninsan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
It does not generate these addresses:
« on: January 11, 2016, 11:11:43 pm »
Hello.
Sorry, I write through a translator.
I like your plugin
But it does have one drawback.
It does not generate these addresses:
http://site.com/jobs_grand-rapids-c435558
http://site.com/technology-jobs_grand-rapids-c435558
category / city
category / State
This will significantly expand the implementation of semantic core site.
If you implement this, then I'll buy your plugin.
Thank you!
http://market.osclass.org/plugins/seo/better-sitemap_474

navjottomer

  • Tutor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 373
  • I am here
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2016, 10:25:09 am »
I will update this thread when I update my plugin with this functionality.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2016, 10:28:14 am by navjottomer »

elite1290

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2016, 06:19:00 am »
I will update this thread when I update my plugin with this functionality.

I bought the sitemap just today and found this issue also, presently your sitemap generate
/ category as 1 url
/ region as 1 url

it didn't generate as what previous user mention /category_region or /category_city as 1 url
there are 2 solutions:

1. yes to include this function to your sitemap to generate url for /category_city or /category_region
2. to change the code in osclass to make it such that /category_region become /category/region or /category-region
someone posted this question in -> https://github.com/osclass/Osclass/issues/1313
the author of osclass mention it'll be fix, any idea which version of osclass will be fix the url format?
and what's the new format url format now for category and region or city?

so now to the author of better sitemap, if the osclass code say can display it as /category/region or /category-region
will your sitemap plugin be able to generate the url for category and region combine as 1 url for /category/region or /category-region?

please let us know above question? I just bought your plugin and found the above issue, please let us know above question? your feedback please, Thanks alot :)


« Last Edit: January 31, 2016, 06:20:35 am by elite1290 »

elite1290

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2016, 06:22:01 am »
Hello.
Sorry, I write through a translator.
I like your plugin
But it does have one drawback.
It does not generate these addresses:
http://site.com/jobs_grand-rapids-c435558
http://site.com/technology-jobs_grand-rapids-c435558
category / city
category / State
This will significantly expand the implementation of semantic core site.
If you implement this, then I'll buy your plugin.
Thank you!
http://market.osclass.org/plugins/seo/better-sitemap_474

Bininsan what osclass version are you running now?

someone posted this question to -> https://github.com/osclass/Osclass/issues/1313
the author of osclass mention it'll be fix, any idea which version of osclass will be fix the url format?
and what's the new format url format now for category and region or city?


navjottomer

  • Tutor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 373
  • I am here
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2016, 06:26:54 am »
I will add this feature in my plugin.
Don't worry.

elite1290

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2016, 12:15:50 pm »
I will add this feature in my plugin.
Don't worry.

but bro there is still 1 issue even if you add, the issue is
presently osclass 3.3 and even 3.6 we tested it show as:
/category_my-region

if the region is 2 word example Kualar Lumpur, and category name is car

google seo will see:

"car Kualar" as 1 word due to the underscored
"Lumpur" as 1 word

so how do we fix this? any idea anyone?

elite1290

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2016, 12:41:44 pm »
"In the last few years, the search engines have successfully overcome their previous challenges with this issue and now treat underscores and hyphens similarly"
https://moz.com/blog/15-seo-best-practices-for-structuring-urls

bro think the underscore is no longer an issue now, above said google seo treat underscore and hyphen as same

so we'll be looking forward to your update for "better-site-map" to include the category_region generation in sitemal url
when this function will be ready next few days? please let us know estimate time?

dev101

  • Osclass Hero
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2132
  • osclass.work
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2016, 01:58:33 am »
With all due respect, sitemaps are the thing of the past in the year of 2016. They have virtually zero SEO benefits, assuming your site has good internal linking structure.

Check my osclass.work demo website if you like (enter site:osclass.work in google search box), I do not use any sitemap plugin at all, but it is crawled and indexed by Google just fine (I do run Full Breadcrumbs plugin, which I am the author of and it is part of my live demonstration). I know this may sound like a really bad advertising, but I am honestly telling the truth here and anyone may confront my claims. You can google yourself for sitemap relevance to verify - internal linking, which is hugely boosted with breadcrumbs on search pages and elsewhere with other links on your site are tremendously more beneficial, since they work in real-time (no cron required, no server load issues, no obsolete info when you delete spam or expired items until next cycle runs etc.) => tied with google fast crawling and auto-mapping algorithms your site will be indexed in no time with relevant pages.

2 cents

Aficionado

  • Guest
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2016, 01:51:21 pm »
A good and working sitemap plugin doesn't exist for Osclass. The official sitemap doesn't work at all.

The facts are that no big player classifieds website uses a sitemap, so this is a sign. Not sure if a sitemap is useless, since Google webmaster asks for one and surely helps.

The sure is that a sitemap doesn't do any damage if it exists.



dev101

  • Osclass Hero
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2132
  • osclass.work
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2016, 01:56:36 pm »
I strongly believe they are providing sitemap submission section for legacy reasons only.

You may even read in official google help that information provided in sitemaps may or may not be used at all.

Simply, crawlers (particularly Google) are nowadays extremely fast and accurate. I am running several websites (not Osclass related) without sitemaps for years, and not a single issue is present, they are decently ranked for their content.

elite1290

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2016, 03:53:49 pm »
I will add this feature in my plugin.
Don't worry.

Hi Navjottomer, it is added already the feature? been 4 days already since last posted
please let us know? Thanks.........

navjottomer

  • Tutor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 373
  • I am here
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2016, 11:28:09 am »
With all due respect, sitemaps are the thing of the past in the year of 2016. They have virtually zero SEO benefits, assuming your site has good internal linking structure.

Check my osclass.work demo website if you like (enter site:osclass.work in google search box), I do not use any sitemap plugin at all, but it is crawled and indexed by Google just fine (I do run Full Breadcrumbs plugin, which I am the author of and it is part of my live demonstration). I know this may sound like a really bad advertising, but I am honestly telling the truth here and anyone may confront my claims. You can google yourself for sitemap relevance to verify - internal linking, which is hugely boosted with breadcrumbs on search pages and elsewhere with other links on your site are tremendously more beneficial, since they work in real-time (no cron required, no server load issues, no obsolete info when you delete spam or expired items until next cycle runs etc.) => tied with google fast crawling and auto-mapping algorithms your site will be indexed in no time with relevant pages.

2 cents
I would like to tell you Sir that your assumptions are wrong.
First xml sitemap are truly beneficial because it gives you some sort of direct control over how crawler will interact with your website.
Straight from google.

Do I need a sitemap?
If your site’s pages are properly linked, our web crawlers can usually discover most of your site.
Even so, a sitemap can improve the crawling of your site, particularly if your site meets one of the following criteria:

Your site is really large. As a result, it’s more likely Google web crawlers might overlook crawling some of your new or recently updated pages.

Your site has a large archive of content pages that are isolated or well not linked to each other. If you site pages do not naturally reference each other, you can list them in a sitemap to ensure that Google does not overlook some of your pages.

Your site is new and has few external links to it. Googlebot and other web crawlers crawl the web by following links from one page to another. As a result, Google might not discover your pages if no other sites link to them.

Your site uses rich media content, is shown in Google News, or uses other sitemaps-compatible annotations. Google can take additional information from sitemaps into account for search, where appropriate.

Using a sitemap doesn't guarantee that all the items in your sitemap will be crawled and indexed, as Google processes rely on complex algorithms to schedule crawling. However, in most cases, your site will benefit from having a sitemap, and you'll never be penalized for having one.

Thats from google
What if you change your domain or permalink settings?
What if breadcrumb do not cover page which you want to add?
What if you want to know directly how many of your pages are indexed/left in google?

If you think that it is added for legacy reason than you are wrong as google would not give a big section in webmaster-tools to Sitemap related settings if they are not important.

I truly believe breadcrumbs help in telling crawlers to index other pages( Even more useful for visitors). Will google use that information? Depends on Google.
It has no comparison with breadcrumbs.

Hi Navjottomer, it is added already the feature? been 4 days already since last posted
please let us know? Thanks.........
Ready to be submitted.



dev101

  • Osclass Hero
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2132
  • osclass.work
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2016, 11:52:44 am »
Quote
Your site is really large. As a result, it’s more likely Google web crawlers might overlook crawling some of your new or recently updated pages.

This is highly unlikely, because the listings are listed from newest by default on first pages. Google crawls sites with incredible speed, as fast as few hundreds of request per minute (IF your server can keep up).

Quote
Your site has a large archive of content pages that are isolated or well not linked to each other. If you site pages do not naturally reference each other, you can list them in a sitemap to ensure that Google does not overlook some of your pages.

Bolded important part, which I already specifically mentioned before. IF.

Quote
Your site is new and has few external links to it. Googlebot and other web crawlers crawl the web by following links from one page to another. As a result, Google might not discover your pages if no other sites link to them.

This is BS. Again, if internal linking is properly done, no place for fear.

Quote
Your site uses rich media content, is shown in Google News, or uses other sitemaps-compatible annotations. Google can take additional information from sitemaps into account for search, where appropriate.

All the info is on the page, already. And sitemap is just a guide, not something that Google will follow mandatory. It decides, as always. As explained in the very next sentence:

Quote
Using a sitemap doesn't guarantee that all the items in your sitemap will be crawled and indexed, as Google processes rely on complex algorithms to schedule crawling. However, in most cases, your site will benefit from having a sitemap, and you'll never be penalized for having one.

. . .

Quote
What if you change your domain or permalink settings?

Sorry, what? Domains and permalinks are frequently changing on big sites, and Osclass has nice permalink change management on its own (via internal 301 redirects). If not, you can always write custom htaccess rewrite rules (or equiv.). Not because of Google, but because of USERS (otherwise, how could old bookmarks work?)

Quote
What if breadcrumb do not cover page which you want to add?

Oh, but they do :)
Along other stuff, of course (footer, header, widgets...).

IF I don't put a page link into footer or somewhere - it means only one thing: that it is private.

Quote
What if you want to know directly how many of your pages are indexed/left in google?

That information is not present in sitemap.xml, do you agree? I mean, sitemap may not be complete, for one. Does this mean that Google will not index other pages not present in sitemap? Of course, not. Also, some pages are not canonical, so they may lead to same content. How that affects indexed pages number? The above is inaccurate in so many ways.

Quote
If you think that it is added for legacy reason than you are wrong as google would not give a big section in webmaster-tools to Sitemap related settings if they are not important.

It is a 5th option under Crawl submenu, how do you deduce it is a 'big section', since it is similar to other sections there?

I rest my case :)

navjottomer

  • Tutor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 373
  • I am here
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2016, 12:39:42 pm »
Quote
Quote
Your site is really large. As a result, it’s more likely Google web crawlers might overlook crawling some of your new or recently updated pages.

This is highly unlikely, because the listings are listed from newest by default on first pages. Google crawls sites with incredible speed, as fast as few hundreds of request per minute (IF your server can keep up).
I am not saying this, it is in google help section. What you trying to do is that you know better than Google.


Quote
Quote
Your site has a large archive of content pages that are isolated or well not linked to each other. If you site pages do not naturally reference each other, you can list them in a sitemap to ensure that Google does not overlook some of your pages.

Bolded important part, which I already specifically mentioned before. IF.
Quote
Quote
Your site is new and has few external links to it. Googlebot and other web crawlers crawl the web by following links from one page to another. As a result, Google might not discover your pages if no other sites link to them.

This is BS. Again, if internal linking is properly done, no place for fear.

Again you know better than google.


Quote
Quote
Your site uses rich media content, is shown in Google News, or uses other sitemaps-compatible annotations. Google can take additional information from sitemaps into account for search, where appropriate.

All the info is on the page, already. And sitemap is just a guide, not something that Google will follow mandatory. It decides, as always. As explained in the very next sentence:

Who said that google follow it mandatory? Check next of that next line.
However, in most cases, your site will benefit from having a sitemap, and you'll never be penalized for having one.

Again I am not saying this, it is what on google help section


Quote
Quote
What if you change your domain or permalink settings?
Sorry, what? Domains and permalinks are frequently changing on big sites, and Osclass has nice permalink change management on its own (via internal 301 redirects). If not, you can always write custom htaccess rewrite rules (or equiv.). Not because of Google, but because of USERS (otherwise, how could old bookmarks work?)

Using sitemaps has many benefits, not only easier navigation and better visibility by search engines. Sitemaps offer the opportunity to inform search engines immediately about any changes on your site. Of course, you cannot expect that search engines will rush right away to index your changed pages but certainly the changes will be indexed faster, compared to when you don't have a sitemap.


Quote
Quote
What if breadcrumb do not cover page which you want to add?

Oh, but they do :)
Along other stuff, of course (footer, header, widgets...).

IF I don't put a page link into footer or somewhere - it means only one thing: that it is private.

What about this?
http://tuffclassified.com/search/pattern,flowers+shops/country,IN/category,5



Quote
Quote
What if you want to know directly how many of your pages are indexed/left in google?

That information is not present in sitemap.xml, do you agree? I mean, sitemap may not be complete, for one. Does this mean that Google will not index other pages not present in sitemap? Of course, not. Also, some pages are not canonical, so they may lead to same content. How that affects indexed pages number? The above is inaccurate in so many ways.

Quote
If you think that it is added for legacy reason than you are wrong as google would not give a big section in webmaster-tools to Sitemap related settings if they are not important.

It is a 5th option under Crawl submenu, how do you deduce it is a 'big section', since it is similar to other sections there?

Quote
I rest my case :)
Who said that you get this information in sitemap?
Just goto dashboard(main page) and it will show you a widget with sitemap stats, now how much importance do you want?

If you are here to tell others that how much important is your plugin, Do that in other thread no offence, but trying to hijack a thread is not good thing.
I too rest my case :)


dev101

  • Osclass Hero
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2132
  • osclass.work
Re: It does not generate these addresses:
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2016, 01:05:21 pm »
Hi there, it is pointless to discuss this further because we have confronted opinions, but this is the last reply from me here:

Quote
What about this?

There really is no need to index search pages specifically containing search keywords. You cannot possibly include every keyword in search, can you? They depend on user preference (what user wish to search for, and sometimes bots to check results and verify). What if there are no search results for that keyword anymore? And Countries, Regions... all have dedicated permalinks, anyway, so the pages with ads will be easily discovered.

Regards